Wandering Among the Stars: A Poetic Story with Prose Poems & Inspirational Quotes (English Poetry Anthology – Poetry Collection & Poet Biography) review

  • 9. Ezra Pound
  • Ellen’s Helping Out with Homework!
  • The Vietnam War: A Teach-in on Truth and Relevancy
  • An evening of poetry and dialogue with Anne Waldman
  • The Reading for AIDS Remembrance
  • Ursula Le Guin at Portland Community College – Rock Creek Campus
  • Something Absolutely Splendid
  • Sunday Kind of Love Reading & Open Mic Series: José Gonzalez & Wo Chan
  • Thomas Rain Crowe: A Writers Life, an Interview and Reading
  • 2017 Asian American Literary Festival
«
»
Rating: 
Amazon Price: N/A (as of July 21, 2018 9:21 pm – Details). Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on the Amazon site at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

'A collection of words, written in verse and in prose, for aspiring poets and active dreamers'

This book tells about the motivational journey of a poet among his walking words, a tale written in prose with many poems and inspirational quotes.

‘Wandering among the stars’ tells about the love story between the protagonist and life too.
A story where poetry and prose are intertwined like soul and body, to bring this love story to life so the reader can live it.

So it’s not about a collection of poems, least of all a story in verse. Maybe it could be described as a book of ‘narrated poems’ or as a ‘literary musical'; actually it represents a narrative experiment that lies somewhere between a meta-novel, a collection of poems and an essay; its main aim is to encourage those readers that usually prefer to read only prose works to read poetry as well. (Do you want to try?)

As a poetry anthology it includes chapters about love, the cosmos, death, spirituality and poetry itself.

Italian edition of this book has been a hit and has remained for more than twelve consecutive months among the bestsellers of its category in the Italian Kindle Store. ( http://smarturl.it/stelle )

‘Wonderful book! Wirton Arvel is the new Gibran' ―Mark J.
‘Poetry is the sound track of our soul; this book tells why' ―Josh Russell
‘It's like a never ending story singing the song of universe to our soul' ―Liz Baum
‘Very inspirational biography, for all 'active dreamers' and life lovers' ―Brandon Dyer
‘This book is like nothing I have ever read before' ―David H. Birley
‘Reading the book, you become a part of something bigger than yourself' ―Uvi Poznansky
‘An interesting sensory experience' ―Dennis Waller
‘Simply beautiful. A treasure for anyone who loves poems' ―Ionia Martin
‘A book for lovers of words' ―Scarlett Jensen
‘ 'Impudent stillness' (one of the poems) is a jewel of combination of words and ideas' ―Jean Pailler
‘This book cannot be summarized – that would tarnish its beauty of wholeness' ―Grady Harp

☛ Grab the free preview ("send sample" button) and give it a try!

It's also available in Italian ( http://smarturl.it/stelle ) and in a bilingual parallel texts edition [English-Italian] ( http://smarturl.it/ProsePoetry )

More from Kentauronhttp://smarturl.it/Kentauron

Product Details

  • File Size: 4837 KB
  • Print Length: 220 pages
  • Page Numbers Source ISBN: 1514757745
  • Publisher: Kentauron; 1 edition (June 11, 2015)
  • Publication Date: June 11, 2015
  • Sold by:  Amazon Digital Services LLC
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00ZINBS6E
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray: Not Enabled
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Lending: Enabled
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled

Customer Reviews

‘There is no one, no where, but the shadows of our thoughts, in the lights of the world’

 on June 20, 2015
By Grady Harp
Poet/writer Wirton Arvel likes to keep his biographical succinct: ‘I’m above all a poet who tries to encourage the promotion and love of poetry, especially among who only enjoy reading prose works. Besides my work as a writer, I have also edited several bilingual editions with English parallel texts: among them there are some classics of literature such as “The Wonderful Wizard of Oz” by L. Frank Baum, “Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland” by Lewis Carroll, “A Christmas Carol” by Charles Dickens, “Three men in a boat” by Jerome K. Jerome, “The Rime of the Ancient Mariner” by Samuel Taylor Coleridge, “The Adventures of Pinocchio (The Tale of a Puppet) by Carlo Collodi, “The Little Prince” by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry. I have also edited some anthologies of Italian and English poetry, among which “Aedi, Bardi e Poeti – Cantori, Trovatori e Vati (Poetry Anthology: XII-XIV centuries [with Occitan and Italian poems])”, “101 poems worth reading in London and New York…” (Anthology of English poetry, from Shakespeare to the beginning of the twentieth century). I took part in some international voluntary workcamps in Finland, Turkey, Zimbabwe and more than one time in Brazil (Rio de Janeiro, Manaus, Salvador da Bahia). I have lived and/or worked in Canada, the United States, Ireland, France, Italy, Germany, Poland and New Zealand.’ His interests are writing, dreaming, making people read poetry.

Making of poems: prose and poetry go hand in hand

 on August 20, 2015
By Henk-Jan van der Klis
In Wandering Among the Stars: A Poetic Story with Prose Poems & Inspirational Quotes Wirton Arvel takes his readers on a journey through life. His poems, alongside classical English Poetry are mixed with explanation in prose. It can be described as a collection of narrated poems or a literary musical. Life and love are the music, you’re challenged to find the melodies. Poems of remembering, longing, eternity, fragrance and divinity. “We are made of words, like poems.” It’s clear from the English poems, that Arvel is no native English speaker. Many expressions are repeated in the poems which were written during the past decades. From a linguistic perspective I’d expect a richer source of English vocabulary to express just that specific thought, feeling or emotion. My Italian would be insufficient to render from original Italian poems in Vagabondado fra le stelle. The poet / author argues that poems should keep their power even after translation. In my opinion that’s not automatically the case. The translator’s skills and the similarities between the source and target languages have a great influence on the result. After all, Wandering Among the Stars gives you a couple of hours reading pleasure and insights in the ‘making of’ poems.

Simply beautiful

 on June 22, 2015
By Ionia Froment
“Unlike Songs whose words depend on the melody of the music, poems must have their own internal music”

Power of Words

 on June 22, 2015
By Scarlett Jensen
A book for lovers of words,

Poetry and Prose Combines

 on July 10, 2015
By Sandra K. Stiles
This book is a mixture of both poetry and prose. Through the author’s writing we journey with him from the beginning of his writing of poetry to the present. His writing covers many themes, especially nature. Reading his poetry we often find him incorporating lines that refer to “little rays of sunshine”. His poetry is meant to be inspirational, first to himself and then to the reader. In the beginning of the book he talks about what poetry is. He compares it to a painter or a jugler who plays wit words. He metaphorically describes it as “moving along dancing”. It is emotional. He follows each poem with prose to explain it. I didn’t find this to be as enjoyable as the poetry which is why I gave it four stars. I would have liked more poetry and less prose. However, I do understand that this is his “journey” so the prose was necessary. With all this said, I would definitely recommend the book. His prose is a great way to explain to my students what poetry is.

Become a part of something bigger than yourself

 on June 24, 2015
By Uvi Poznansky
As the title suggests, Wondering Among the Stars offers a romantic rumination, aiming to express the love between the poet and life in several modes: lyrical prose, poetry, and illustrations, all by Wirton Arvel. The descriptive language is both philosophical and sensual:

A Lovely Book

 on July 31, 2015
By BeverlyJ
“What is poetry?” Poet Wirton Arvel, the author of WANDERING AMONG THE STARS, asks. Good question and he goes on to explain his thoughts. He also talks about who the poet is and where inspiration can come from. He compares poetry to a song; both must have their own internal music. He alternates his explanations with his poetry.

the prose floats in the air as you snatch its meaning leaving you in a rather zen like state. Captivating collection of smooth h

 on June 22, 2015
By Melinda
Poetry and its translation as individual and unique as fingerprints. This is an entrancing collection displayed in an original arrangement accompanied by unique graphics. The collection possesses an ethereal feeling, the prose floats in the air as you snatch its meaning leaving you in a rather zen like state. Captivating collection of smooth hypnotic tranquil poems, a sensuous journey as Wirton gently guides you by the hand.

For Poetry Lovers

 on August 6, 2015
By Shirley McCann
I could see where this book would be very beneficial to someone interested in writing Prose Poems. I did enjoy many of them. I reviewed this book as a favor, but I have to admit it wasn’t my cup of tea. But as I mentioned, I did enjoy many of the poems. And if you’re interested in learning to write poetry, this would be a good place to start. If I could give it a 3 1/2, I would, but it just wasn’t my cup of tea. Very well done, though.

Magic

 on June 20, 2015
By Mirell
An amazing and unique kind of poetic story, within a poetry collection, that lead the author and the reader in the world of the ‘walking words’.
 

CERTAIN CONTENT THAT APPEARS ON THIS SITE COMES FROM AMAZON SERVICES LLC. THIS CONTENT IS PROVIDED ‘AS IS’ AND IS SUBJECT TO CHANGE OR REMOVAL AT ANY TIME.

  Please Note: On very rare occasions books may become paid in between updates. Always check before you download a book.    

Remember to Download FREE Kindle book reader App for your devices here before you continue NOW!

 

=-=-=-=-=-=-=-Material Connection Disclosure=-=-=-=-=-=-=

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites. Amazon and the Amazon logo are trademarks of Amazon.com, Inc. or its affiliates.

=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=

Don't make them read, let them watch.
Attractive and catchy videos worth a thousand words
Order Your Video!

Fresh and targeted content auto shared to your blogs and social networks:
Learn more at RSSground.com

**NB: If you are having limited network resources and your activities involve a lot of auto-update and other cron jobs, I would advise you also consider using the services provided by EasyCron.com. They have FREE membership option!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *