The Missing and the Dead (Logan McRae, Book 9) review

  • You mean there is more? 2nd Book Haul March 2017
  • Blind Eye by Stuart MacBride
  • May Commencement 2017 UNC Asheville
  • YYCCC 2011-05-09 Calgary City Council – Video Archive – May 9, 2011
  • You Bet Your Life: Secret Word – Car / Clock / Name
«
»
Rating: 
Amazon Price: N/A (as of November 25, 2017 10:45 am – Details). Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on the Amazon site at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

The new Logan McRae novel from the No. 1 bestselling author of CLOSE TO THE BONE and A SONG FOR THE DYING.

One mistake can cost you everything…

A little girl’s body washes up just outside the sleepy coastal town of Macduff, kicking off a major manhunt. Officially, the investigation is out of Sergeant Logan McRae’s hands, but DCI Steel’s Major Investigation Team, drafted in from Aberdeen, is getting nowhere fast.

Steel is running out of ideas and time. She wants Logan back on her team, and doesn’t care how she gets him there.

One thing is clear: there are dangerous predators lurking in the wilds of Aberdeenshire, and not everyone’s getting out of this alive…

Product Details

  • File Size: 1764 KB
  • Print Length: 593 pages
  • Publisher: HarperCollins (June 2, 2015)
  • Publication Date: June 2, 2015
  • Sold by:  HarperCollins Publishers
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00S4DWGKM
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray: Enabled
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Lending: Not Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled

Customer Reviews

Dark, complex, but the sun comes out in the end

 on March 25, 2017
By Laughing Bull
I’m a huge fan of Logan McRae, and his unusually twisted relationship with DCI Steele. But for me this one got off to a slow start.

Excellent! Just excellent!

 on May 8, 2016
By Tripower53
Another great novel by Stuart MacBride. When I found out that Logan had been broke back to uniform in a small village, I though oh no, where’s Steel? But the finding of a little girls body on the beach brings in the MIT and along with it, Steel. Between chasing cows and other various duties, the canvassing of local pedophiles goes into action. We get to see a side of British policing that we don’t usually get to see in Mr. MacBride’s novels. The local cops, doing the small town/village stuff. Logan’s girlfriend is still hanging in there in the hospital, but we find out later in the book that she is in a coma. And Logan’s been having conversations with her all this time. He even got his kitten because of something she suggested in the previous book. Complicating his life, the possible mother of the young girl shows up and insinuates herself into Logan’s life – and home. The fact that Logan is in uniform and policing in a village is brought back to light when the past in the form of his botched testimony in a previous trial comes back to haunt him…

Crime Mystery

 on May 15, 2016
By jon robards
A change of pace for Logan in this book. He is now a Sergeant and not a DS. Sent to an outlying Division for ‘experience’ he becomes heavily involved with drug runners, domestics, and all the other mundane duties of cops on the beat. But of course DI Steele muscles in and ‘encourages’ Logan to assist with another murder inquiry. The pace here is very fast with Logan caught up in a number of relatively minor criminal matters as well as Steele’s murder investigation. Lots of ‘chopping and changing’ with the numerous plots a little hard for this reader to keep up with. In addition there is the unresolved issue of Samantha weighing on Logan’s mind. Nevertheless the book is another thoroughly good read. The author keeps this Logan series alive and well with characters we have come to know (and love?) . Looking forward to Book 10.

Something different, but another winner.

 on June 13, 2016
By Graeme
When you first start reading this book, fans of Logan McRae might be a little confused by the change of location and the flood of new characters as Logan is transferred into the countryside and back into uniform. But what MacBride has done is cleverly is create a new environment for Logan with great new characters—and don’t worry, many of the old favourites soon begin turning up, too. About the only problem I had was absorbing all those new people in a relatively brief set of chapters, but that wasn’t worth a “star”. In fact, the second time I read it (prior to the latest release now) this book was twice as good. Highly recommended.

Another classic in a brilliant series

 on August 26, 2017
By Alan in Cyprus
Mr MacBride never fails to deliver and has done it again. The relationship between him and Steele is classic and the language priceless – I come from that neck of the woods so find it particularly amusing. Why Logan has never made it to the small screen I don’t know.it would be a great success I’m sure

New book in a great series for mystery lovers

 on August 9, 2015
By Kathy
I am a big fan of Stuart MacBride and have read all his Logan McRae books. This was not my favorite in the series, but I did find it enjoyable.I hope we see McRae return to the murder squad. In this book, Logan has been detailed to a regular police force as a sergeant, and a lot of the book is running about dealing with complaints. But I do love MacBride’s dark humor and always find his books to be a good romp. It’s fun to see how Logan puts all the pieces of the puzzle together as the novel progresses. Looking forward to the next book. Also, MacBride’s Ash Henderson series is another excellent read for mystery lovers.

Could a Bad Haircut Be to Blame?

 on May 18, 2016
By Mark Delligatti
Logan’s life gets darker and more confused. His relationship with Roberta Steele gets more complicated too. The love of his life remains comatose. A little girl is found dead, are local pedophiles involved? A horrible mutilation occurs, a trial follows. Logan is up and down and up and down. This is a story that shocks, saddens, surprises. It is another great addition to the series. One caveat. make sure you read these in order!

Another Excellent Read!

 on January 22, 2015
By Aussie
Excellent read! We see Logan McRae given a ‘development opportunity’ which means a pay cut, into uniform and back on the streets. Seeing him dealing with several police stations while being on the streets himself brings out a whole new side to McRae. He comes across as such a ‘normal’ person, with compassion but also all the foibles that makes a human an individual. Love the different situations, and, of course, the main mysteries that run through the book. And you just gotta love DI Steel! A host of new characters to make you smile as well. Looking forward to the next book!

Love the McRae & Steele stories

One person found this helpful.
 on August 8, 2015
By Janet D Newport
Love the McRae & Steele stories. One of these days, I’ll get a dictionary of Scottish slang so that I can enjoy EVERY word. There’s enough context that the main idea is a given…so it’s not really necessary. The Missing and the Dead was a nice dark story — typical of Stuart MacBride with some real personal twists for Logan. I can hardly wait for # 10.

If you haven’t – you are missing out on some great characters and different story lines

 on November 7, 2015
By Kindle Customer
If you have read any Stuart MacBride you must buy this book. If you haven’t – you are missing out on some great characters and different story lines. I am from the US – so if the Scottish setting seems different – please don’t let that be a deterrent.Trust me – you will actually want to go to Aberdeen when you read any of his books – I know that sounds strange – based on the books. Stuart MacBride readers/devotes will get that comment! Don’t miss this experience!
 

CERTAIN CONTENT THAT APPEARS ON THIS SITE COMES FROM AMAZON SERVICES LLC. THIS CONTENT IS PROVIDED ‘AS IS’ AND IS SUBJECT TO CHANGE OR REMOVAL AT ANY TIME.

  Please Note: On very rare occasions books may become paid in between updates. Always check before you download a book.    

Remember to Download FREE Kindle book reader App for your devices here before you continue NOW!

 

=-=-=-=-=-=-=-Material Connection Disclosure=-=-=-=-=-=-=

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites. Amazon and the Amazon logo are trademarks of Amazon.com, Inc. or its affiliates.

=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=

Don't make them read, let them watch.
Attractive and catchy videos worth a thousand words
Order Your Video!

Fresh and targeted content auto shared to your blogs and social networks:
Learn more at RSSground.com

**NB: If you are having limited network resources and your activities involve a lot of auto-update and other cron jobs, I would advise you also consider using the services provided by EasyCron.com. They have FREE membership option!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *